2017 SCLC Award Recipients

Posted at 12:16 PM on Mar 28, 2017

The full list of 2017 Sierra-Cascade Logging Conference Award recipients is unveiled! Congratulations to everyone who received an award!

The awards were presented during the 2017 Expo week, but if you missed them you can read the full list of recipients below.

John Jarrett Award – Mike Mitzel

This awards recognizes someone who has demonstrated dependability, resourcefulness and commitment to the Sierra-Cascade Logging Conference
Mr. Mark Lathrop, SCLC Past President – 2012, presented this year’s award

Logger of the Year Award– John Wheeler Logging

Each year we honor a person for their industry leading accomplishments within the forest products industry as Logger of the Year
Mr. Mike Mitzel, SCLC Past President – 2004, presented this year’s award

Roy Derek Berridge Award – Sherry James

Established after Roy passed away in 2001, this award is presented each year to someone who has given outstanding assistance to the conference, supports forest products industry education, or has made efforts toward a positive change in forest management
Mr. Dan Fisher, SCLC Past President – 2009, presented the Roy Derek Berridge Award

Jim McCollum Memorial Plaque

Mr. Dee Sanders with Trinity River Lumber presented the Jim McCollum Memorial Plaque

President’s Award – Tom Martin

Award rarely given and is reserved for those who have gone above and beyond in their volunteer service or duration of service to the Sierra-Cascade Logging Conference.

Tom Martin received the President’s Award, which was a double-bit axe with engraved handle, for his years of service volunteering with students competing in Logging Sports.

Tom was unable to attend this years SCLC. His award was presented by Ted James and Matt Cheula at the President’s Reception & Vendor Dinner (with Logging Sports students in attendance) and mailed to Tom Martin.